Zhabokrich

In the former town preserved synagogue One of the few remaining Jewish homes
In the former town preserved synagogue One of the few remaining Jewish homes
Here are 3 large mass graves, all in the center
Here are 3 large mass graves, all in the center
This is the second from the first 200 meters
This is the second from the first 200 meters
The third mass grave, in the former collective farm
The third mass grave, in the former collective farm
Zhabokrich, 2012 г.


        In 1559 the Polish king, nobles Zhabokritskim confirming their possession of "Fatherland" in Bratslav Povet, Zhabokrych mentioned among other "Villages". According to the inventory, "podymnogo tax" in 1629 there were 54 houses in Zhabokrych. By 1664, after the Polish-Cossack wars, in the village, then belonging to two owners (families and Skopovskih Bosov) had only 16 houses.

Jews settled here, probably in the first half of the XVIII century. In 1765 there were six Jewish homes in Zhabokrych, more than forty Jews living in the village, have been attributed to the community Myastkovki. According to Census 1790, there were numbered 55 Jewish settlement by this time acquired the status of town with a name change to Zhabokrych Veľký (Big).

In 1853, the community owned a wooden synagogue in which there were 120 parishioners, while it was "spiritual" Rabbi Mordechai (Mortka) Shaiman, Gabala and cantor. In the town I lived a so-called Zemsky, or "bureaucratic", Rabbi Mordechai (Mortka) Feldman.

In 1852 there were seven in Zhabokrych registered artisans Jews; in 1871, according to the governor of Podolsk, 357 inhabitants Zhabokrych was attributed to the trading estate, and 3750 - to the village, in the village there were 679 houses. In the first half of the 1890s. in the village was 440 yards, there were 4790 people in them. Jews made up more than 25% of the population and contained two prayer houses (in 1889 - 1393 Jews). In 1901, Rabbi Zhabokrych became p. Son Nathan p. Baruch Stanislavsky (born in 1872). At the beginning of the century at the disposal of the community it had three synagogue buildings.
Almost all areas of the economic life of the town - a craft, industrial and commercial - in the hands of the Jews. Jews rented the largest enterprise - distillery (founded in 1860), owned by one of the two steam mills, mёdovarennym plant, timber yards, as well as all the shops and stores, a total of about forty.

Jewish pogroms of the time of the collapse of the empire did not pass Zhabokrych. In the Orthodox feast of the (November 1917), a group of young peasants came to town and beat the Jews with iron bars.
28 - August 30, 1919 soldiers of the retreating army units Directories staged in the town mayhem.

At the beginning of the 1920s. Zhabokrych was a medium-sized town with 8000 inhabitants. Jews accounted for a quarter of its population and living compactly in the center of town; most of the Jewish population were craftsmen: shoemakers, furriers, carpenters, blacksmiths.

Rabbi Zhabokrych r.Natan Stanislavsky remained until the 1920s. he did not come to the conclusion that "the place is no longer in need of a rabbi, because to him no one goes." For some time continued to operate four header, the summer of 1923, two of them were closed, remaining engaged and fifty children. . Due to the financial difficulties of a Jewish school opened in the early 1920s, it was forced to close; children's home of the scarcity of funds located in two rooms of an apartment house where the acute shortage of staff. He was kept at the expense of Evobschestkoma and "Joint", and from May 1923 - only at the expense of the latter, as the Board of Education refused to support him.

Part of the Jewish youth was swept Komsomol work which was conducted in Yiddish, among 16 local Komsomol were 12 Jews.

In 1923, 823 Jews lived here (20% of the population).
German troops entered Zhabokrych in the 20 days of July 1941, after the Romanian occupation regime has been established here. Until the end of July the Romanian gendarmes completely destroyed the Jewish population of the town. Jews pushed into the cellar and shot them in the back. Separate the wounded subsequently managed to get out and escape.

Now the Jews did not live Zhabokrych


V.Lukin, "100 Jewish settlements in Ukraine"
Vinnitsa Region
Jewish Religious community of
Zhmerinka
Ukraine, 23100, alley Khlibniy, 2
All rights reserved

My shtetl
My shtetl
Jewish towns of Ukraine
Jewish towns of Ukraine

Здесь Вы можете оставить комментарий или дополнить статью
После проверки модератором Ваш комментарий будет опубликован

Жабокрич

Винницкая область, Крижопольский район

В бывшем местечке сохранилось здание синагоги Один из немногих оставшихся еврейских домов
В бывшем местечке сохранилось здание синагоги Один из немногих оставшихся еврейских домов
Здесь 3 большие братские могилы, все в центре А деревья тут растут оригинальные
Здесь 3 большие братские могилы, все в центре А деревья тут растут оригинальные
Это вторая, от первой метров 200
Это вторая, от первой метров 200
Третья братская могила, на территории бывшего колхоза Советский памятник в сквере
Третья братская могила, на территории бывшего колхоза Советский памятник в сквере
Жабокрич, 2012 г.
   В 1559 г. польский король, подтвер­ждая шляхтичам Жабокрицким их владения «отчизнами» в Брацлавском повете, упомянул Жабокрич среди прочих «селищ». Согласно описи «подымного налога» 1629 г. в Жабокриче было 54 дома. К 1664 г., после казацко-польских войн, в селе, принадлежавшем тог­да двум владельцам (семьям Скоповских и Босов) оставалось лишь 16 жилых домов.
   Евреи здесь поселились, вероят­но, в первой половине XVIII в. В 1765 г. в Жабокриче было шесть ев­рейских домов, более сорока ев­реев, проживавших в селе, были приписаны к общине Мястковки. Судя по переписи 1790 г., насчи­тавшей здесь 55 евреев, поселение к этому времени получило статус местечка с изменением названия на Жабокрич Велький (Большой).

   В 1853 г. община владела дере­вянной синагогой, в которой чис­лилось 120 прихожан, при ней бы­ли «духовный» раввин Мордехай (Мортко) Шайман, габай и кантор. В местечке проживал так называ­емый земский, или «казённый», раввин Мордехай (Мортко) Фель­дман.
   В 1852 г. в Жабокриче было семь зарегистрированных ремесленников-евреев; в 1871 г., согласно сообщению по­дольского губер­натора, 357 жите­лей Жабокрича было приписано к торговому со­словию и 3750 - к сельскому, в местечке насчитыва­лось 679 домов. В первой полови­не 1890-х гг. в местечке было 440 дворов, в них проживало 4790 че­ловек. Евреи составляли более 25% населения и содержали два молитвенных дома (в 1889 г. - 1393 евреев). В 1901 г. раввином Жабокрича стал р. Натан сын р. Баруха Станиславский (родился в 1872 г.). В начале века в распо­ряжении общины было три сина­гогальных здания.
   Практически все сферы хозяй­ственной жизни местечка - ремес­ленная, промышленная и торговая - находились в руках евреев. Ев­реи арендовали самое крупное предприятие - винокуренный за­вод (основан в 1860 г.), владели одной из двух паровых мельниц, мёдоваренным заводом, лесными складами, а также всеми лавками и магазинами, общим числом око­ло сорока.
   Еврейские погромы времён рас­пада империи не миновали Жа­бокрич. В православный праздник Введения (ноябрь 1917 г.) молодые крестьяне группой прибыли в местечко и избили евреев желез­ными прутьями.
28 - 30 августа 1919 г. солдаты отступающих воинских частей Директории устроили в ме­стечке погром.

   В начале 1920-х гг. Жабокрич представлял собой средних разме­ров местечко с 8000 жителей. Ев­реи составляли четверть его насе­ления и проживали компактно в центре местечка; большую часть ев­рейского населения составляли ре­месленники: сапожники, скорняки, плотники, кузнецы.
   Раввином Жабокрича оставался р.Натан Станиславский, пока в 1920-х гг. он не пришел к выводу, что «местечко больше не нуждает­ся в раввине, так как к нему никто не обращается». Некоторое время продолжали действовать четыре хедера, летом 1923 г. два из них бы­ли закрыты, в оставшихся занима­лись пятьдесят детей. Из-за финан­совых трудностей еврейскую шко­лу, открытую в начале 1920-х гг., пришлось закрыть; детский дом из-за скудости средств разместил­ся в двух комнатах жилого дома где остро ощущал недостаток персо­нала. Он содержался на средства Евобщесткома и «Джойнта», а с мая 1923 г. - только на средства последнего, так как Отдел народно­го образования отказал ему в под­держке.
   Часть еврейской молодежи была охвачена комсомольской работой которая велась на идише, среди 16 местных комсомольцев было 12 ев­реев.

   В 1923 г. Здесь проживало 823 еврея (20% населения).
   Немецкие войска вошли в Жабокрич в 20-х числах июля 1941 г., позже здесь был установлен ру­мынский оккупационный режим. До конца июля румынские жандар­мы полностью уничтожили еврей­ское население местечка. Евреев за­талкивали в погреба и стреляли им в спину. Отдельным раненым впоследствии удалось выбраться оттуда и спастись.

   Сейчас евреи в Жабокриче не проживают


   В.Лукин, "100 еврейских местечек Украины"
Jewish Religious community of
Zhmerinka
Ukraine, 23100, alley Khlibniy, 2
All rights reserved


Мой   штетл
Мой   штетл
Еврейские местечки Украины
Еврейские местечки Украины